ARN 3 – Eric Tabuchi & Nelly Monnier

Eric Tabuchi & Nelly MonnierAtlas des Régions Naturelles Vol.3

Book launch

Photographers Eric Tabuchi and Nelly Monnier will be in Brussels on Friday 4 November 2022 to present the third volume of their “Atlas of Natural Regions”. The meeting will take place on the ULB campus in Flagey, in the Victor Bourgeois auditorium, 19 Place Eugène Flagey (1050) from 6pm to 9pm.

The Atlas des Régions Naturelles is a singular photographic adventure, as much by its dimensions as by its duration. Begun in 2017, its ambition is to document the 450 natural regions or “countries” that make up the French territory in an equal manner.

By criss-crossing these small geographical and cultural entities and cultural entities that have sometimes fallen into disuse in the face of Nelly Monnier and Eric Tabuchi collect the visual elements of what makes up a region. They combine the particularities of man – traditional architecture, place names, local aesthetics, traces of history – and natural motifs, such as relief, landscapes, colours, vegetation, etc.

An editorial as well as a photographic adventure, each volume of ARN is carefully co-edited by Editions Poursuite and the GwinZegal Art Centre in the purest tradition of the Atlas: 16 chapters following each other at the rhythm of three regions followed by a theme. On 384 pages, more than 600 images tell the story of architecture as well as its relationship to the landscape. Thematic entries function as formal typologies (e.g. Training Architectures, Discotheques, Public Geometries and Infrasculptures for volume 3) and a map serves as an index for each volume.

Biography
After studying sociology, where he discovered the work of August Sanders, Eric Tabuchi began his photographic work. In 1999, together with other artists, he founded the Glassbox collective in Paris, with whom he participated in numerous exhibitions. From 2007, Éric Tabuchi published several books – Hyper Trophy, Twentysix abandoned gazoline stations, Alphabet truck – with Florence Loewy.
He has exhibited at the Palais de Tokyo, the Confort Moderne and the Abattoirs. Since 2012, he has been working on the Atlas of Forms. In 2017, he began the Atlas des Régions Naturelles, a project he intends to carry out over the next few years.
Born to a Japanese father and a Danish mother, his work revolves around the notions of territory, memory and identity. Architectural typologies are the main focus of his work. In addition to his photographic practice, Eric Tabuchi produces objects and installations. (source: CNAP)

Nelly Monnier was born in 1988 and lives and works in the Ain and Essonne regions of France.
After a rural childhood and film studies in Bourg-en-Bresse, she obtained a DNSEP at ENSBA Lyon in 2012. She then presented her work, in which painting, drawing and storytelling address the relationship between architecture, decoration and landscape, at the Creux de l’enfer (Thiers), at the Fabre Museum in Montpellier following the award of the Félix Sabatier prize, at the IAC (Lyon/Villeurbanne) in 2013 and then in Singapore in 2015, at the Salon de la Jeune Création in 2017, and recently at the 22,48m2 gallery (Paris), at the Metaxu (Toulon) and at the Cantine (Belfort). Her practice is nourished by numerous “local” trips, notably for the Atlas of Natural Regions project (archive-arn.fr) that she is conducting with Eric Tabuchi.

Book launch Sillages by Nicolas Verschaeve on Thursday, October 27 Book launch ARN Vol.3 with Eric Tabuchi on Friday November 4th Book launch La Devinière by Vincen Beeckman on Thursday, November 17

9 & 39 Rue Lesbroussart in 1050 Brussels

Open every day except public holidays from 11am to 7pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

ARN 3 – Eric Tabuchi & Nelly Monnier

Eric Tabuchi & Nelly MonnierAtlas des Régions Naturelles Vol.3

Rencontre

Les photographes Eric Tabuchi et Nelly Monnier nous feront l’honneur d’être à Bruxelles le vendredi 4 novembre 2022 afin de nous présenter le troisième volume de leur “Atlas des Régions Naturelles”. La rencontre aura lieu sur le campus de l’ULB à Flagey, à l’auditoire Victor Bourgeois, 19 Place Eugène Flagey (1050) de 18h à 21h.

L’Atlas des Régions Naturelles est une aventure photographique singulière, autant par ses dimensions que par sa durée. Commencée en 2017, son ambition est de documenter de manière égale les 450 régions naturelles ou “pays“ composant le territoire français.

En sillonnant ces petites entités géographiques et culturelles parfois tombées en désuétude face au découpage administratif de l’Hexagone, Nelly Monnier et Eric Tabuchi collectent les éléments visuels de ce qui fonde une région. Ils associent indifféremment les particularismes impulsés par l’homme – architectures traditionnelles, toponymes, esthétiques locales, traces de l’histoire – et les motifs naturels, tels que reliefs,paysages, couleurs, végétation, etc.

Aventure éditoriale autant que photographique, chaque volume de l’ ARN est soigneusement co-édité par les Editions Poursuite et le Centre d’art GwinZegal dans la plus pure tradition des Atlas: 16 chapitres se succédant au rythme de trois régions suivies d’un thème. Sur 384 pages, ce sont plus de 600 images qui racontent aussi bien l’architecture que son rapport au paysage, des entrées thématiques fonctionnent comme autant de typologies formelles (ainsi des Architectures d’entraînement, Discothèques, Géométries publiques et Infrasculptures pour le volume 3) et une carte fait pour chaque volume office d’index.

Biographie
Après des études de sociologie où il découvre l’oeuvre d’August Sanders, Éric Tabuchi commence son travail photographique. En 1999, en compagnie d’autres artistes, il fonde à Paris le collectif Glassbox avec qui il participe à de nombreuses expositions. À partir de 2007, Éric Tabuchi publie plusieurs livres – Hyper Trophy, Twentysix abandoned gazoline stations, Alphabet truck – chez Florence Loewy.
Il expose notamment au Palais de Tokyo, au Confort Moderne et aux Abattoirs. Depuis 2012, il travaille à l’élaboration d’Atlas of Forms. En 2017, il commence l’Atlas des Régions Naturelles, projet qu’il entend mener ces prochaines années.
Né d’un père japonais et d’une mère danoise, son travail s’articule autour des notions de territoire, de mémoire et d’identité. Les typologies architecturales constituent le principal de son oeuvre. En plus de sa pratique photographique, Eric Tabuchi produit des objets et réalise des installations. (source : CNAP)

Nelly Monnier est née en 1988, elle vit et travaille dans l’Ain et en Essonne.
Après une enfance rurale et des études de cinéma à Bourg-en-Bresse, elle obtient un DNSEP à l’ENSBA Lyon en 2012. Elle présente ensuite son travail, où peinture, dessin et récit abordent les rapports entre l’architecture, le décoratif et le paysage au Creux de l’enfer (Thiers), au musée Fabre de Montpellier suite à l’obtention du prix Félix Sabatier, à l’IAC (Lyon/Villeurbanne) en 2013 puis à Singapour en 2015, au Salon de la Jeune Création en 2017, ou encore à la galerie 22,48m2 (Paris), au Metaxu (Toulon) et à la Cantine (Belfort) récemment. Sa pratique est nourrie par de nombreux voyages « de proximité », notamment pour le projet d’Atlas des Régions Naturelles (archive-arn.fr) qu’elle mène avec Eric Tabuchi.

Lancement Sillages de Nicolas Verschaeve le jeudi 27 octobre Lancement ARN Vol.3 avec Eric Tabuchi le vendredi 4 novembre Lancement La Devinière de Vincen Beeckman le jeudi 17 novembre

9 & 39 Rue Lesbroussart à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert tous les jours sauf les jours fériés de 11h00 à 19h00

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier