Barbara Iweins – Katalog

Barbara IweinsKatalog

Book launch

We are pleased to invite you to a meeting about Barbara Iweins’ book, Katalog, in the presence of the artist, on Friday 24 June, from 6 to 9 pm.

This meeting takes place in the context of the publication of the book and the exhibition of Barbara Iweins’ work at the Rencontres de la Photographie in Arles, from 4 July to 25 September 2022.

“Absolutely everything went into it: from my daughter’s holey sock to my son’s Lego to my vibrator, my anti-anxiety medication, everything, absolutely everything.”
Barbara Iweins.

Barbara Iweins has moved 11 times in her life, and each time she was terrified by the amount of stuff she had to pack. For two years, 15 hours a week, she staged and photographed the 12,795 objects in her house, without any filter or prior selection. Then, through a rigorous classification, she listed them according to their material, their colour, their degree of use… and isolated 50 essential ones that she tells us in short, chiselled stories, as funny as they are moving. A sensitive and intimate self-portrait of a modern woman and a self-exposure pushed to its limits.

Biography
Barbara Iweins is a Belgian photographer who has started her artistic career in Amsterdam where she has lived for a number of years. A collector since a tender age, Barbara continues to classify, and gather and archive her photographic subjects according to strict criteria.

Fascinated by the vulnerability of humans, she passes her time to push the boundaries of what is intimate. Her series “Au coin de ma rue” where she entered bit by bit in the private life of strangers. Or her project 7AM/7PM where she invited these same strangers to sleep at her house to capture the innocence and fragility just as they wake up. Her series “Bath” where she captured the moments of quiet solitude characterize her quest for innocence and the beauty in imperfection. Since her return to Brussels, she has retreated into her own world where she lives like a hermit working on her new project KATALOG. It’s the first time she uses her private life as a case study.

Book launch Sillages by Nicolas Verschaeve on Thursday, October 27 Book launch ARN Vol.3 with Eric Tabuchi on Friday November 4th Book launch La Devinière by Vincen Beeckman on Thursday, November 17

9 & 39 Rue Lesbroussart in 1050 Brussels

Open every day except public holidays from 11am to 7pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

Barbara Iweins – Katalog

Barbara IweinsKatalog

Rencontre

Nous sommes heureux de vous convier à une rencontre autour de l’ouvrage de Barbara Iweins, Katalog, en présence de l’artiste, le vendredi 24 juin, de 18h à 21h.

Cette rencontre a lieu dans le cadre de la publication de l’ouvrage et de l’exposition du travail de Barbara Iweins aux rencontres de la photographie à Arles, du 4 juillet au 25 septembre 2022.

« Absolument tout y est passé : de la chaussette trouée de ma fille aux Lego de mon fils en passant par mon vibromasseur, mes anxiolytiques, tout, absolument tout.»
Barbara Iweins.

Barbara Iweins a déménagé 11 fois dans sa vie et, chaque fois, la quantité d’objets à emballer l’a terrifiée. Pendant 2 ans, à raison de 15 heures par semaine, elle a mis en scène et photographié, sans filtre ni sélection préalable, les 12 795 objets de sa maison. Ensuite, par une classification rigoureuse, elle les a répertoriés selon leur matériau, leur couleur, leur degré d’utilisation… et en a isolé 50 essentiels qu’elle nous raconte dans de courtes histoires ciselées, aussi drôles qu’émouvantes. Un autoportrait sensible et intime d’une femme moderne et une exposition de soi poussée à son paroxysme.

Biographie
Barbara Iweins est une photographe belge qui a débuté sa carrière artistique à Amsterdam où elle vit depuis plusieurs années. Collectionneuse depuis son plus jeune âge, Barbara continue à classer, rassembler et archiver ses sujets photographiques selon des critères stricts.

Fascinée par la vulnérabilité des humains, elle passe son temps à repousser les limites de l’intime. Sa série “Au coin de ma rue” où elle est entrée petit à petit dans la vie privée d’inconnus. Ou encore son projet 7AM/7PM où elle a invité ces mêmes inconnus à dormir chez elle pour capturer l’innocence et la fragilité au moment où ils se réveillent. Sa série “Bath”, où elle a capturé des moments de solitude tranquille, caractérise sa quête de l’innocence et de la beauté dans l’imperfection. Depuis son retour à Bruxelles, elle s’est retirée dans son propre monde où elle vit comme un ermite en travaillant sur son nouveau projet KATALOG. C’est la première fois qu’elle utilise sa vie privée comme étude de cas.

Rencontre avec Yves Depelsenaire pour "Éloge de Marcel Broodthaers", le 14 avril 2022 Lancement des 3 premiers catalogues des diplômé·e·s de l’École supérieure des arts de l'image Le 75, le jeudi 28 avril 2022

10 Rue du Tabellion à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert du mardi au Samedi 10h30 - 18h30

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier