Bernadette Mergaerts Flisvos

Bernadette Mergaerts Flisvos

Book launch

The Peinture Fraîche team is delighted to invite you
to the release of Bernadette Mergaerts’s new book,
on Thursday 24 June 2021 from 6 to 9 pm.

Flisvos is a Greek word meaning “the soft sound of a small wave gently hitting the shore”. When visiting the Greek island of Corfu in the winter of 2015, Bernadette Mergaerts (BE) noticed that, in spite of the cold weather, many people were swimming at various places along the shoreline of the capital city, Kerkyra. She was impressed that the bathers — all adults, some of them retired — seemed to find peace in the Ionian sea.

During the following years, Mergaerts often went back to the island, sometimes for long periods of time, and learned more and more about the lives of the winter swimmers. How they survive on a green island in a country in crisis. About their shared concerns about pollution; the loss of touch with nature; their health; the lack of social security; and the sometimes strict nature of family ties.
With sensuous images, Mergaerts shows the decline of nature but also its vitality, and that of the bathers themselves. She follows them on their daily swims in the sea, how they merge with the elements, and their participation in the ritual celebrations of the winter months. Months that simply have to be endured until the following spring.

Biography
Bernadette Mergaerts (BE) is a photographer/geographer who successively worked at Apple Computer, at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) and as the personal photographer and chief of protocol of former Belgian Prime Minister Elio Di Rupo. She is based in Brussels but works half of her time in Greece, Spain and France. Mergaerts combines commissioned visual communication projects with her activities as a visual artist and her work as lecturer. She loves to create in close collaboration with writers, musicians and dancers. She is a ‘walker’ and avoids using cars.
Mergaerts exhibited her work in Brussels, Paris, Corfu, Palma de Mallorca, Paxos, Roubaix and Montreuil, and was part of a group exhibition in Arles in 2019.

Book launch of Exercices de dessin 01 by Tim Colmant, June 3, 2021 Booklaunch of Flisvos by Bernadette Mergaerts, June 24, 2021 Booklaunch

10 Rue du Tabellion in 1050 Brussels

Open Tuesday to Saturday 10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

Bernadette Mergaerts Flisvos

Bernadette Mergaerts Flisvos

Rencontre

L’équipe de Peinture Fraîche est ravie de vous convier
à la sortie du nouveau livre de Bernadette Mergaerts,
le jeudi 24 juin 2021 de 18h à 21h.

Flisvos est un mot grec qui signifie « le doux son d’une petite vague qui frappe doucement le rivage ». Lors d’une visite de l’île grecque de Corfou au cours de l’hiver 2015, Bernadette Mergaerts (BE) a remarqué que, malgré le froid, de nombreuses personnes se baignaient à divers endroits du littoral de la capitale, Kerkyra. Elle a été impressionnée par le fait que les baigneurs – tous des adultes, certains retraités – semblaient trouver la paix dans la mer ionienne.

Au cours des années suivantes, Mergaerts est souvent retournée sur l’île, parfois pour de longues périodes, et a appris de plus en plus de choses sur la vie des nageurs d’hiver. Comment ils survivent sur une île verte dans un pays en crise. Leurs préoccupations communes : la pollution, la perte de contact avec la nature, leur santé, l’absence de sécurité sociale et la nature parfois stricte des liens familiaux.
Avec des images sensuelles, Mergaerts montre le déclin de la nature mais aussi sa vitalité, et celle des baigneurs eux-mêmes. Elle les suit dans leurs baignades quotidiennes dans la mer, comment ils se fondent dans les éléments, et leur participation aux célébrations rituelles de l’hiver. Des mois qui doivent simplement être supportés jusqu’au printemps suivant.

Biography
Bernadette Mergaerts (BE) est une photographe/géographe qui a travaillé successivement chez Apple Computer, à la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) et comme photographe personnelle et chef de protocole de l’ancien Premier ministre belge Elio Di Rupo. Elle est basée à Bruxelles mais travaille la moitié du temps en Grèce, en Espagne et en France. Mergaerts combine des projets de communication visuelle, ses activités de plasticienne et son travail de conférencière. Elle aime créer en étroite collaboration avec des écrivains, des musiciens et des danseurs. Elle est une “marcheuse” et évite de prendre la voiture.
Mergaerts a exposé ses œuvres à Bruxelles, Paris, Corfou, Palma de Majorque, Paxos, Roubaix et Montreuil, et a participé à une exposition collective à Arles en 2019.

Lancement de Flisvos par Bernadette Mergaerts, le jeudi 24 juin 2021 Lancement d'Exercices de dessin 01 par Tim Colmant, le jeudi 3 juin 2021 Lancement

10 Rue du Tabellion à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert du mardi au Samedi 10h30 - 18h30

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier