Hélène Drénou, Vases communicants

Hélène DrénouVases communicants

The Peinture Fraîche team is delighted to invite you to the release of Hélène Drénou‘s first book, on Thursday 21 October 2021, from 6pm to 9pm.

As an active producer of still lifes, the vase object is part of my image repertoire. I draw it as much as I create it in ceramic. A sort of cult of the object. A year ago I designed this collection of vases, which allowed me to gather my love for this object and a whole bunch of new motifs. At the same time, these drawings influenced my ceramic work, which pushed me to imagine even more hybrid, spontaneous and offbeat forms.

My friends at Actes Nord saw and appreciated this work and immediately suggested that I make a risography book of it. I said “yes”.

Based in Charleroi, Belgium, Actes Nord is an initiative of Corinne Clarysse and Nicolas Belayew. It is an independent publishing project. They produce books and fanzines by risography, silk-screening or photocopying. The interests of this micro-publishing structure lie in drawing, collage and collecting. They publish their own projects and those of artists who surround them. The books are in small print runs and mostly hand-bound. Actes Nord’s raison d’être is to create surprising, poetic and spontaneous books.

Vases communicants is a collection of imaginary vases, both a research notebook and a catalogue of utopian containers. The drawings are brought together by their unified colours using RISO inks. One is surprised to imagine the crazy bouquets that one could put in these ceramics that are both powerful and poetic, raw and colourful. And to match the generosity of Hélène’s line, the book is packaged in a silk-screened poster.

Biography
After studying graphic design in France, Hélène Drénou arrived in Brussels in 2013 to join the screen printing course at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts. Towards the end of her studies she started to experiment with ceramics alongside her other practices. She fell in love with this medium which allowed her to get out of the image and to create her objects which will be an integral part of her future still lifes when she will start oil painting a few years later.
Hélène Drénou is interested in the notion of multiple, of series, her works come to life next to each other. Her practice is based on a colourful universe. Working spontaneously, she plays with representations of interiors, forms extracted and reworked until they become a motif bordering on the abstract.

https://helenedrenou.bigcartel.com/

Book launch of Censored Magazine, October 7, 2021 Booklaunch of "Vases Communiquants" by Hélène Drenou & Actes Nord, October 21, 2021 Booklaunch of "Mythologies" by Letizia Le Fur & Rue du Bouquet,October 28, 2021

10 Rue du Tabellion in 1050 Brussels

Open Tuesday to Saturday 10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

Hélène Drénou, Vases communicants

Hélène DrénouVases communicants

L’équipe de Peinture Fraîche est ravie de vous convier à la sortie du premier livre d’Hélène Drénou, le jeudi 21 octobre 2021 de 18h à 21h.

Productrice active de natures mortes, l’objet vase fait partie de mon répertoire d’image. Je le dessine autant que je le crée en céramique. Une sorte de culte de l’objet. Il y a un an j’ai dessiné cette collection de vase, cela m’a permis de rassembler mon amour pour cet objet et tout un tas de nouveaux motifs. En parallèle ces dessins ont influencé mon travail en céramique, ce qui m’a poussé à imaginer des formes encore plus hybrides, spontanées et décalées.

Les copains d’Actes Nord ayant vu et apprécié ce travail, m’ont de suite proposé d’en faire un livre en risographie. J’ai dit «oui».

Basées à Charleroi, Belgique, les éditions Actes Nord sont une initiative de Corinne Clarysse et Nicolas Belayew. Il s’agit d’un projet d’édition indépendante. Ils fabriquent des livres & fanzines en risographie, sérigraphie ou photocopie. Les centres d’intérêts de cette micro structure éditoriale se situent autour du dessin, du collage, de la collection. Ils publient leurs propres projets et ceux d’artistes qui les entourent. Les livres sont à faible tirage et pour la plupart reliés à la main. La raison d’être d’Actes Nord est de donner naissance à des livres surprenants, poétiques et spontanés.

Vases communicants est une collection de vases imaginaires, à la fois carnet de recherche et catalogue de contenants utopiques. Les dessins sont rassemblés par leurs couleurs unifiées à l’aide des encres de la RISO. On se surprend à imaginer les bouquets fous que l’on pourrait mettre dans ces céramiques à la fois puissantes et poétiques, brutes et colorées. Et pour s’accorder à la générosité du trait d’Hélène, l’ouvrage est emballé dans un poster sérigraphié.

Biographie
Après avoir fait des études de graphisme en France, Hélène Drénou arrive à Bruxelles en 2013 pour intégrer le cursus sérigraphie à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts. Vers la fin de ses études elle commence à expérimenter la céramique à côté de ses autres pratiques. Coup de coeur pour ce médium qui lui permettra de sortir de l’image et de pouvoir créer ses objets qui feront partie intégrante de ses futurs natures mortes quand elle se mettra à la peinture à l’huile quelques années après.

Hélène Drénou s’intéresse à la notion de multiple, de série, ses oeuvres prennent vie les unes à côté des autres. Sa pratique s’articule autour d’un univers coloré. Travaillant de manière spontanée, elle joue sur des représentations d’intérieurs, de formes extraites et retravaillées jusqu’à devenir un motif à la limite de l’abstrait.

https://helenedrenou.bigcartel.com/

Lancement de Censored Magazine, le 7 octobre 2021 Lancement de "Vases Communiquants" par Hélène Drenou & Actes Nord, le 21 octobre 2021 Lancement de "Mythologies" par Letizia Le Fur & Rue du Bouquet, le 28 octobre 2021

10 Rue du Tabellion à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert du mardi au Samedi 10h30 - 18h30

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier