La Devinière – Vincen Beeckman

Vincen BeeckmanLa Devinière

Book launch

We will be welcoming Vincen Beeckman for the launch and signing of his new book La Devinière, on Thursday 17 November, from 6 to 9 pm at 9 rue Lesbroussart.

“This little universe either greets you or ignores you. You smile. You argue, you play chess. You feel cold for it, you suffer with it, you tremble with it. Everything is amazing and everything is natural”, writes Vincen Beeckman about the project La Devinière, which was started more than eight years ago.

Through his collaborative practice of photography, Vincen Beeckman succeeds in abolishing the distance with his subjects and invites us to meet the residents of La Devinière.
This centre for institutional psychotherapy, founded in 1976 by Michel Hock as an alternative to the psychiatric hospital, was created to accommodate some twenty children suffering from mental disorders and deemed incurable. They still live there today. Free to move about, the residents organise their days according to their needs with the guidance of an attentive therapeutic team.
La Devinière delivers an intimate and powerful account of the life and different states of mind of this group who have lived together for many years in this place designed for them. True to his committed photography practice, Vincen Beeckman takes the time to build sincere and solid relationships. Every week or so, he goes to the centre to meet the “kids” as they are familiarly called by the therapeutic team that has been following them since they were young. He plays chess or Uno with them, participates in parties and birthdays, shares dramas and anxieties, brings and receives gifts. He shows his photographs and keeps a diary, which he often writes in their presence.

He meets “Jean-Claude, “the strongest man in the world”, who trains to lift loads that he makes from anything he can find; Eric, a construction genius, who draws, plans and builds cabins; Laeticia, an AC/DC fan, who always has a new lover; or Vincent, who tears up photos and gives them to Jean-Luc, a puzzle enthusiast, who puts them back together…

The book alternates photographic sequences with extracts from Vincen Beeckman’s diary, reproduced in facsimile. The texts respond to the photos in a lively and direct, almost telegraphic style, recounting the instantaneous, the absurd, the joys, the calms, the cries, the tensions, the creations, the games and the loves. Their lives appear over the pages with increasing clarity. Raw, sometimes brutal. But subtly they meet the lives of ordinary people: they talk about hairstyles, shoes, confinement, parties and vaccines. Vincen Beeckman built this story with them. Jean-Luc, Philippe and Eric created the cover image and the scenography of the exhibition, which will be presented at the Arts and Margins Museum in Brussels. For the photographer, the important moment will be when everyone discovers the book and the exhibition.

Biography
For Vincen Beeckman (born 1973), collaboration is essential. He works mainly with marginalised and vulnerable people, giving visibility to under-recognised communities. For example, in the long-term project ‘Cracks’, he used disposable cameras to connect with the homeless at Brussels Central Station. Vincen Beeckman invited them to photograph themselves, resulting in candid images that reflect the exchange between the photographer and the community. The photographer’s work is not easily pigeonholed into a single photographic genre but unfolds in a large constellation – perhaps because Vincen Beeckman is a multi-faceted creator: artist, curator and educator. His work has been exhibited many times: Folkwang Museum, Essen; BPS22, Charleroi; Le Vecteur, Charleroi among others, and has been selected for the Grand Prix Images Vevey, Photobook of the Month (Photo London), Foto Wien Photobook Award, BUP Book Award, or more recently Prix Photo Élysée 2022.

Vincen Beeckman’s work on La Devinière will be exhibited from 24 November to 15 January at Art et Marges, as part of the festival Photo Brut Bxl.

Book launch Sillages by Nicolas Verschaeve on Thursday, October 27 Book launch ARN Vol.3 with Eric Tabuchi on Friday November 4th Book launch La Devinière by Vincen Beeckman on Thursday, November 17

9 & 39 Rue Lesbroussart in 1050 Brussels

Open every day except public holidays from 11am to 7pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

La Devinière – Vincen Beeckman

Vincen BeeckmanLa Devinière

Rencontre

Nous recevrons Vincen Beeckman pour le lancement et la signature de son nouvel ouvrage La Devinière, le jeudi 17 novembre, de 18h à 21h au 9 rue Lesbroussart.

« Ce petit univers te salue ou t’ignore. Tu souris. Tu discutes, tu joues aux échecs. Tu as froid pour lui, tu souffres avec elle, tu trembles avec lui. Tout est étonnant et tout est naturel. », écrit Vincen Beeckman à propos du projet « La Devinière », démarré il y a plus de huit ans.

Par sa pratique collaborative de la photographie, Vincen Beeckman réussit à abolir la distance avec ses sujets et nous invite à rencontrer les résidents de La Devinière.
Ce centre de psychothérapie institutionnelle, fondé en 1976 par Michel Hock comme une alternative à l’hôpital psychiatrique, fut créé pour accueillir une vingtaine d’enfants atteints de troubles mentaux et réputés incurables. Ils y résident toujours aujourd’hui. Libres de leurs mouvements, les pensionnaires organisent leurs journées selon leurs besoins avec l’encadrement d’une équipe thérapeutique attentive.
La Devinière livre un récit intime et puissant de la vie et des différents états d’esprit de ce groupe qui vit ensemble depuis de longues années dans ce lieu pensé pour lui. Fidèle à sa pratique engagée de la photographie, Vincen Beeckman prend le temps de construire des relations sincères et solides. Chaque semaine ou presque, il se rend au centre pour rencontrer les « gosses » comme ils sont familièrement appelés par l’équipe thérapeutique qui les suit depuis leur plus jeune âge. Il joue avec eux aux échecs ou au Uno, participe aux fêtes et anniversaires, partage les drames et les angoisses, apporte des cadeaux et en reçoit. Il montre ses photographies et tient un journal qu’il rédige souvent en leur présence.

Il y rencontre « Jean-Claude, “l’homme le plus fort du monde”, qui s’entraîne à soulever des charges qu’il fabrique avec tout ce qu’il trouve ; Éric, un génie de la construction, qui dessine, planifie et construit des cabanes ; Laeticia, fan de AC/DC, qui a toujours un nouvel amoureux ; ou encore Vincent qui déchire les photos et les donne à Jean-Luc, passionné de puzzles, qui les recolle…».

L’ouvrage alterne des séquences photographiques et des extraits du journal de Vincen Beeckman, reproduits en fac-similé. Les textes répondent aux photos dans un style vif et direct, presque télégraphique, racontant l’instantané, l’absurde, les joies, les apaisements, les cris, les tensions, les créations, les jeux et les amours. Leurs vies apparaissent au fil des pages avec une netteté grandissante. Brutes, parfois brutales. Mais subtilement elles rencontrent celle du commun des mortels : on y parle coiffure, chaussures, confinement, fêtes et vaccins. Vincen Beeckman a construit ce récit avec eux. Jean-Luc, Philippe, Éric ont réalisé l’image de la couverture ainsi que la scénographie de l’exposition qui sera présenté au musée Arts et marges de Bruxelles. Pour le photographe, le moment important sera celui où tous découvriront l’ouvrage et l’exposition.

Biographie
Pour Vincen Beeckman (né en 1973), la collaboration est essentielle. Il travaille principalement avec des personnes marginalisées et vulnérables, donnant une visibilité à des communautés peu reconnues. Par exemple, lors du projet au long cours « Cracks », il a utilisé des appareils-photo jetables pour établir un lien avec les sans-abris de la gare centrale de Bruxelles. Vincen Beeckman les a invités à se photographier eux-mêmes, donnant lieu à des images franches qui témoignent des échanges entre le photographe et la communauté. L’œuvre du photographe ne se laisse pas facilement enfermer dans un seul genre photographique mais se déploie en une grande constellation – c’est peut-être parce que Vincen Beeckman est un créateur aux multiples facettes : artiste, curateur et éducateur. Ses travaux ont été exposés à de nombreuses reprises : Folkwang Museum, Essen ; BPS22, Charleroi ; Le Vecteur, Charleroi entre autres, et ont été sélectionnés pour le Grand Prix Images Vevey, Photobook of the Month (Photo London), Foto Wien Photobook Award, BUP Book Award, ou plus récemment Prix Photo Élysée 2022.

Le travail de Vincen Beeckman sur La Devinière sera exposé du 24 Novembre au 15 janvier à Art et Marges, dans le cadre du festival Photo Brut Bxl.

Lancement Sillages de Nicolas Verschaeve le jeudi 27 octobre Lancement ARN Vol.3 avec Eric Tabuchi le vendredi 4 novembre Lancement La Devinière de Vincen Beeckman le jeudi 17 novembre

9 & 39 Rue Lesbroussart à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert tous les jours sauf les jours fériés de 11h00 à 19h00

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier