Letizia Le Fur, Mythologies

Letizia Le FurMythologies

Book launch

The Peinture Fraîche team is delighted to invite you to a discussion about Letizia Le Fur‘s book, Mythologies, with Alain Rodriguez, graphic designer, and Samantha Millar Hoppe, editor, on Thursday 28 October 2021.

Letizia Le Fur’s work Mythologies has its roots in two passions that have inhabited and accompanied the artist since her childhood: Greek mythology and the search for beauty.

Guided by the classical poets, in particular Hesiod and Ovid, Letizia freely interprets the myths that she revisits with her own sensitivity and a contemporary aesthetic approach. Letizia transforms and transcends what surrounds her, embellishes reality, colours the greys to invent a world as a reference point where she can settle down, repair herself and find a balance in the midst of harshness. This search for an aesthetic refuge and a state of plenitude borders on obsession, and one is reminded of Stendhal who wrote, in the essay De l’amour, “Beauty is only the promise of happiness”. Her quest for harmony and beauty, like the practice of a cult, in opposition to ugliness and inappropriateness, is liberated and distant from the codes in force, unexpected, absolute, sometimes secret.

“So in the beginning was Chaos, and then the Earth with its vast bosom and the dark Tartarus in the depths of the vast earth, and then Love, the most beautiful of the immortals, who bathes with his languor both gods and men, tames hearts and triumphs over the wisest wishes.”
Hesiod, Theogony (7th century BC)

Biography
Letizia Le Fur graduated from the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in 1998 and was initially trained as a painter. Encouraged by the artist and teacher Valérie Belin, she quickly directed her aesthetic quest towards photography.
Her writing, through a very personal use of colours and a particular care for the composition, is always situated between reality and fiction. Fascinated by myths, she explores the double theme of nature and the human figure by creating atmospheric scenes and dreamlike visions.
In 2018, Letizia Le Fur won the Leica/Alpine Prize. She creates a carte blanche in the form of a road trip which will result in an exhibition at the Leica Gallery.
In 2019, she becomes a Leica ambassador.
Letizia Le Fur is one of the residents of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in Deauville and will be exhibited in October 2020.
In 2020, she won the MEP 1st Prize for the Open Window competition, work made during confinement.

https://www.letizialefur.com/

Book launch of Censored Magazine, October 7, 2021 Booklaunch of "Vases Communiquants" by Hélène Drenou & Actes Nord, October 21, 2021 Booklaunch of "Mythologies" by Letizia Le Fur & Rue du Bouquet,October 28, 2021

10 Rue du Tabellion in 1050 Brussels

Open Tuesday to Saturday 10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

Letizia Le Fur, Mythologies

Letizia Le FurMythologies

Rencontre

L’équipe de Peinture Fraîche est ravie de vous convier à une discussion autour du livre Mythologies, en compagnie de la photographe Letizia Le Fur, d’Alain Rodriguez, graphiste, et de Samantha Millar Hoppe, éditrice, le jeudi 28 octobre 2021.

Le travail Mythologies de Letizia Le Fur puise ses racines dans deux passions qui habitent et accompagnent l’artiste depuis son enfance : la mythologie grecque et la recherche de la beauté.

Guidée par les poètes classiques, notamment par Hésiode et Ovide, Letizia interprète ici librement les mythes qu’elle re-visite avec sa sensibilité et par une approche esthétique contemporaine. Letizia transforme et transcende ce qui l’entoure, embellit le réel, colore les gris pour s’inventer un monde repaire/repère où se poser, se réparer et trouver un équilibre au milieu de l’âpreté. Cette recherche d’un refuge esthétique et d’un état de plénitude frise chez elle l’obsession, et l’on pense à Stendhal écrivant, dans l’essai De l’amour, « La beauté n’est que la promesse du bonheur ». Sa quête d’harmonie et de beauté, telle la pratique d’un culte, en opposition à la laideur et à l’inapproprié, est libérée et éloignée des codes en vigueur, inattendue, absolue, parfois secrète. 

« Donc, au commencement, fut Chaos, et puis la Terre au vaste sein et le Tartare sombre dans les profondeurs de la vaste terre, et puis Amour, le plus beau des immortels, qui baigne de sa langueur et les dieux et les hommes, dompte les cœurs et triomphe des plus sages vouloirs. »
Hésiode, Théogonie (VIIe siècle av. J.-C.)

Biographie
Diplômée de l’école des Beaux-Arts en 1998, Letizia Le Fur a initialement été formée à la peinture. Encouragée par l’artiste et professeure Valérie Belin, elle oriente rapidement sa quête esthétique vers la photographie.
Son écriture, de part une utilisation très personnelle des couleurs et un soin particulier pour la composition se situe toujours entre réalité et fiction. Fascinée par les mythes, elle explore le double thème de la nature et de la figure humaine en créant des scènes atmosphériques et des visions oniriques.
En 2018, Letizia Le Fur remporte le Prix Leica/Alpine. Elle réalise une carte blanche sous forme de road trip qui donnera lieu à une exposition à la Galerie Leica.
En 2019, elle devient ambassadrice Leica.
Letizia Le Fur fait partie des résidents du Festival Planche(s) Contact de Deauville et sera exposée en Octobre 2020.
En 2020, elle remporte le 1er Prix MEP pour le concours Fenêtre ouverte, travail réalisé pendant le confinement.

https://www.letizialefur.com/

Lancement de Censored Magazine, le 7 octobre 2021 Lancement de "Vases Communiquants" par Hélène Drenou & Actes Nord, le 21 octobre 2021 Lancement de "Mythologies" par Letizia Le Fur & Rue du Bouquet, le 28 octobre 2021

10 Rue du Tabellion à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert du mardi au Samedi 10h30 - 18h30

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier