TVK – The Earth is Architecture & Of sand and stones

TVKThe Earth is Architecture & Of Sand and Stones

Book launch

We are pleased to invite you to the presentation of The Earth is Architecture and Of Sand and Stones, two books written by the architectural office TVK. The authors, accompanied by their graphic designer and photographer Julien Hourcade, will come and talk to us about these two publications on Thursday 31 March 2022 from 6 to 9 pm.

TVK is an international office of architecture and urban design, created by Pierre Alain Trévelo and Antoine Viger-Kohler in Paris in 2003. Trained in Paris and at Harvard, involved in teaching from the outset, they pursue an approach where theory and practice mutually respond to and enrich each other. Through projects, research and writing they have steadily produced a singular œuvre, at once theoretical and built. Their aim is to capture the complexity and the paradoxical character of the contemporary earthly situation, in order to contribute to making it habitable.

The Earth is Architecture
The Earth is an Architecture is a research programme initiated in 2015 that takes a critical and prospective look at the current modes of land development, which are increasingly taking up the Earth’s surface, but also takes a new approach to ecology. In 2021, the agency is invited by Hashim Sarkis to the 17th International Architecture Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia to present the results of this research: a monumental installation and an eponymous book. These two formats function as a dyptic where concepts and figures respond to each other.

Of Sand and Stones
Using excerpts from texts by Gaston Bachelard, Reyner Banham, Laurence Cossé, Gilles Deleuze & Félix Guattari, Marguerite Duras, Jean-Claude Gall, André Gide, André Guilerme, Jean-Yves Jouannais, Maylis de Kerangal, Pierre Reverdy, Marie Richeux, Robert Smithson, Vitruve, Émile With and Marguerite Yourcenar, photographies by Julien Hourcade and drawings by TVK and Tolila+Gilliland, Of Sand and Stones explores the imaginary of matter in the construction of a mixed-use block (cinema, cultural centre, community centre, theatre, dance hall, housing, shops and garden), built with naturally coloured concrete in the Clichy-Batignolles district of Paris between 2013 and 2018.

Presentation pictures ©Julien Hourcade
Photos of the books and the event @Martin Wilfart

Signaturewith Yves Depelsenaire for "Éloge de Marcel Broodthaers", on Thursday 14 April 2022 Booklaunch of the first 3 catalogues of the graduates of the École supérieure des arts de l’image Le 75, on Thursday 28 April 2022

10 Rue du Tabellion in 1050 Brussels

Open Tuesday to Saturday 10:30 am - 6:30 pm

Your cart
Subtotal 0 EUROS

To find out the costs and delivery times, proceed to the checkout.

Your cart

TVK – La terre est une architecture & Of sand and stones

TVKLa Terre est une Architecture & Of Sand and Stones

Rencontre

Nous sommes heureux de vous convier à la présentation de La Terre est une architecture et de Of Sand and Stones, deux ouvrages écrits et pensés par le bureau d’architecture TVK. Les auteur·e·s, accompagné·e·s de leur graphiste et photographe Julien Hourcade, viendront nous parler de ces deux publications le jeudi 31 mars 2022 de 18h à 21h.

TVK est un bureau international d’architecture et d’urbanisme créé à Paris en 2003 par Pierre Alain Trévelo et Antoine Viger-Kohler. Formés à Paris et Harvard et impliqués dans l’enseignement depuis l’origine, ils poursuivent une démarche où théorie et pratique se répondent et s’enrichissent mutuellement. Au travers de projets, de recherches et d’écrits, ils produisent patiemment une œuvre singulière, à la fois théorique et construite. Leur objectif est de s’emparer de la complexité et du caractère paradoxal de la situation terrestre contemporaine, pour la rendre habitable.

La Terre est une architecture
La Terre est une architecture est un programme recherche initié en 2015 qui pose un regard critique autant que prospectif sur les modes d’aménagement terrestres actuels, qui accaparent toujours plus la surface de la Terre mais porte aussi une approche inédite de l’écologie. En 2021, l’agence est invitée par Hashim Sarkis à la 17e exposition internationale d’architecture – La Biennale di Venezia à présenter les résultats de cette recherche : une installation monumentale et un livre éponyme. Ces deux formats fonctionnent comme un dyptique où concepts et figures se répondent. 

Of Sand and Stones
À partir d’extraits de textes de Gaston Bachelard, Reyner Banham, Laurence Cossé, Gilles Deleuze & Félix Guattari, Marguerite Duras, Jean-Claude Gall, André Gide, André Guilerme, Jean-Yves Jouannais, Maylis de Kerangal, Pierre Reverdy, Marie Richeux, Robert Smithson, Vitruve, Émile With et Marguerite Yourcenar, des photographies de Julien Hourcade et des dessins de TVK et Tolila+Gilliland, Of Sand and Stones explore l’imaginaire de la matière dans la construction d’un îlot mixte (cinéma, centre culturel, centre communautaire, théâtre, salle de danse, logements, commerces et jardin), édifié avec des bétons aux couleurs naturelles dans le quartier de Clichy-Batignolles à Paris entre 2013 et 2018.

Photos de présentation ©Julien Hourcade
Photos des livres et de l’évènement @Martin Wilfart

10 Rue du Tabellion à 1050 Bruxelles

Ouvert du mardi au Samedi 10h30 - 18h30

Votre panier
Sous-total 0 EUROS

Pour connaitre les coûts et delais de livraison, procédez au checkout

Votre panier